Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación


The CIBERER is made up of 62 Research Groups belonging to institutions of diverse kinds: University Hospitals, Universities, Public Research Organisations, as well as the Instituto de Salud Carlos III (ISCIII) itself, the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) and the Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnológicas (CIEMAT), along with Research Centres of Spain’s Autonomous Communities. Each of these groups forms a CIBERER unit. 

The CIBERER has extensive human resources of over 700 people, formed by a large staff of its own CIBERER researchers, staff assigned to the CIBERER forming the rest of its members. This large team is made up of biomedical, basic and clinical researchers, technical research staff and managers.

CIBERER, thematic area of CIBER, is governed by a  Governing Board and a  Permanent Committee. The organisation structure is made up of the  Scientific Management  under Dr Francesc Palau which, along with the  Management Committee , coordinates the work done by the 7 Research Programmes  (PdI)  in which the CIBERER groups are distributed. The  CIBER Technical Unit and the Scientific management team provide the administrative and technical support required for the institution to run.